WTF ... IS WTF!?
We are a collective of people who believe in freedom of speech, the rights of individuals, and free pancakes! We share our lives, struggles, frustrations, successes, joys, and prescribe to our own special brand of humor and insanity. If you are looking for a great place to hang out, make new friends, find new nemeses, and just be yourself, WTF.com is your new home.

Drill press incident.

MaxPower

You're my number two
Staff
Working as a carpenter several years ago, I was drilling out some maple making a door (mortise-and-tenon joints) using a 1 1/4 inch auger bit, on a drill press. Now I know the safety rules, no gloves. But I was getting a blister in the middle of my palm, and "I'm a professional, I know what I'm doing".
The work piece became obsured with wood chips, so in a moment of not thinking, I wiped the chips away with the gloved hand. Well the glove snagged on the bit and my middle finger wrapped spirally around it. I was able to hit the shut-off just in time, but not before it ripped the tendons in my finger. It was mangled in a split second.
I now have full use and it looks completely normal, but for a while there I wondered if I would ever flip anyone off again.

bigck3000

The Iron Lung
I think when enough thread are started....we should turn some into "owned" pictures....or maybe thats the AOL talking.