WTF ... IS WTF!?
We are a collective of people who believe in freedom of speech, the rights of individuals, and free pancakes! We share our lives, struggles, frustrations, successes, joys, and prescribe to our own special brand of humor and insanity. If you are looking for a great place to hang out, make new friends, find new nemeses, and just be yourself, WTF.com is your new home.

Is Your Computer 64 Bit Ready?

Freakless

One Horn3y Mofo
Sorry but what I posted was wrong.... mah bad.... Here is some accurate shiznat ;)

UberSkippy said:
Yeah, Freakless.... I'm gonna have to throw some Bullshit flags here.

I'm sorry but you appear to be just a wee bit misguided here in what you're saying. For starters, I've actually PLAYED with the new x64 bit processors as well as the Itanium2 processors. I've even used the x64 versions of XP and 2003 on the x64 processors. (I work as a test development engineer and had to do evaluations on them.)

So let's start more or less at the top. 64 bit processors are not twice as fast as 32 bit procs. They can handle instructions that are twice as long but they still process at... well... the same speeds.

This new x64 technology isn't all it's cracked up to be either. Not all 32 bit applications will run on them. Color Savy's Photo Spectrometer software won't even begin to run. On the flip side, the 32 bit version of Office XP WILL run on the ia64 architecture. (It's not supposed to but hey, it does)

But the real thing that just irritates me here is the insane bullshit of "Spend the extra money". See, what's just plain moronic about that is that these chips DO cost more, yet the support for what they theoretically can do isn't actually available and won't be for some time. By the time it IS available it'll be far cheaper. On top of that, since Microsoft hasn't actually locked down what they're doing for these new chips (trust me, they're just not there) who knows if it'll be a viable technology.