WTF ... IS WTF!?
We are a collective of people who believe in freedom of speech, the rights of individuals, and free pancakes! We share our lives, struggles, frustrations, successes, joys, and prescribe to our own special brand of humor and insanity. If you are looking for a great place to hang out, make new friends, find new nemeses, and just be yourself, WTF.com is your new home.

Headlines Missed chances and blatant racism

B

Burleo

In the past two days I have encountered so much blatant racism...

Last Wednesday at work (I work as a lifeguard) some kids came into the pool during lap swim. Usually we only get adults that swim or do aqua jogging, but the kids (four of them, between the ages of 12 and 15) were behaving and doing laps with their kickboards. There are six lanes, and they were only taking up one for the four of them. This woman comes up to me and says "I want those kids out. I pay a lot of money to be here and I shouldn't have to put up with this. There just isn't enough space for them." Well, there were only two people in each of the other lanes, so I told her that if more people came in and it got to be too much of a problem I'd say something. I asked if they were disturbing her, and she said "no, it's a space issue." The kids saw this woman talking to me and figured I was going to kick them out. I wasn't. It was a hot day, so I just told them to make sure they were serious when they were there. They were very polite and well-behaved; I figured that if they're in the rec. center, then they have just as much a right to be there as she does because they pay too. The woman huffed back to her lane and for the rest of the time she was there gave those kids looks like you wouldn't believe! I got a few too, but not nearly as many. The kids were African American. It was clearly a racism issue.