WTF ... IS WTF!?
We are a collective of people who believe in freedom of speech, the rights of individuals, and free pancakes! We share our lives, struggles, frustrations, successes, joys, and prescribe to our own special brand of humor and insanity. If you are looking for a great place to hang out, make new friends, find new nemeses, and just be yourself, WTF.com is your new home.

Starting a web page

leehype

drunk with a jeep problem
Ok so I would like to start a web page. I have never done one before, and have no idea where to begin, except buying the domain. If anyone has any advice that they feel like sharing, I could use the help.

BTW, I am starting this to learn.

Jung

???
Premium
First you should learn HTML, without learning it you will always be limited to the WYSIWYG editors, which incidentally make horrible websites. Once you learn HTML, you should learn CSS for advanced styles. Both can be learned at www.w3schools.com

As you already know, you're going to need a domain name and hosting. www.namecheap.com is probably the best place (imo) to buy your domain name. They allow you to order by proxy for free, so your personal information isn't available to the entire internet.

Hosting is kind of tricky, but I can recommend a few good hosts. I personally use www.dreamhost.com for my shared hosting, but a friend of mine runs www.hytekhosting.com which offers some really cheap plans.

leehype

Thanks guy this will be a great place to start.

If I get to a point where I'm proud of a page, I'll set it as a signiture.

jamesp

In Memory...
Give it a while. It takes no time at all to learn what you need to, but it takes a bit of time to learn how to make it look good.

BklynCannonball

pffffffffffttttttttttt...
Get a book on HTML. The websites are cool and stuff but it gets a bit bulky if you're printing shit. A good book and you'll be alright.