WTF ... IS WTF!?
We are a collective of people who believe in freedom of speech, the rights of individuals, and free pancakes! We share our lives, struggles, frustrations, successes, joys, and prescribe to our own special brand of humor and insanity. If you are looking for a great place to hang out, make new friends, find new nemeses, and just be yourself, WTF.com is your new home.

What I do for a living.

BrIONwoshMunky

EVERYBODY LOVE EVERYBODY!
Staff
I make tap water. So, I figured if any of you out there have problems with your water, such as staining in your dishwasher, bitter/nasty coffee, soap scum... inability to wash off soap, and the like, post, and I'll answer (or at least give you some questions to ask the water company). Cause, hey, it's what I do.

skully

GO BEARS!!!!
the wick in my air humidifier turns yellow, and becomes crusty.
are these impurities?

BrIONwoshMunky

Staff
skullmaster said:
the wick in my air humidifier turns yellow, and becomes crusty.
are these impurities?
Probably not, but could be, if it were from hard water, you'd be getting rings in your tub. I.E. Hard water stains. And if it were due to an abundance of Manganese, you'd have other staining as well, such as on your dishwasher if you have one... Most probably, you pump alot of water through that humidifier, and even the trace amounts of minerals in the water are being deposited onto the filter.

EDIT: Minerals in the water aren't nessecarily a bad thing, they actually give water taste, and keep it from corroding your pipes...

BrIONwoshMunky

Staff